Sacred Heart Catholic Church of Mercedes 





History of Sacred Heart Catholic Church

The first church was a Chapel of Our Lady of Mercy Catholic Church.  It was located on Missouri Street in Mercedes, Texas. When the Parish was erected in 1969 by Bishop Humberto Mederiros,  the Chapel was moved to the present Sacred Heart Church location. The first pastor was Father Ronald Anderson.

The Old CCD Center and Parish Hall was brought to the site by the OMI Oblate priests. It was replaced by what is now the CCD Center built by Father Tomas Mateos in 1991.
The Old Rectory used to be the convent of religious sisters who were in charge of the Religious Education for the entire city of Mercedes. The back part of the Old Rectory was used as the priest's residence. The Rectory was relocated to the new Parish Hall in 1991. 
The present church was built in 1974 during the pastorate of Father Vicente Azcoiti. Priests that have served at Sacred Heart Catholic Church are as follows:
  • Fr. Vicente Azcoiti  (1970-1979)
  • Fr. Frank Gomez    (1979-1984)
  • Fr. Tomas Mateos  (1987-1995)
  • Fr.Laurence Klein   (1995-1997)
  • Fr. Wenceslaco Mendoza  (1997-1998)
  • Fr. Rafael Hernandez  (1998-2002)
  • Fr. Faustin Boleli  (2002-2003)
  • Fr. Celso Talabanza  (2003-2010)
  • Associate Pastor, Randy Gonzalez (2005-2007)
  • Fr. Eduardo Ortega  (2010-2021)
  • Fr. Anthony Baetzold 2021
Bishops that have served the Diocese of Brownsville since the erection of  Sacred Heart Catholic Church are as follows:
    • Bishop Humberto Mederiros-erected the parish
    • Bishop John J. Fitzpatrick
    • Bishop Enrique San Pedro
    • Bishop Raymondo Peña
    • Bishop Daniel Flores/Auxiliary Bishop Mario A. Avilés, C.O. (2018)

Old Rectory

Old Chapel

New Church